Organizing Committee

Université Laval is one of Canada’s largest universities with 17 faculties, 60 departments and schools, and nearly 500 programs in every field of knowledge training more than 40,000 students every year. It is also a leader in the area of research and innovation, with over 1,600 research professors divided among 250 teams and centres. In recognition of more than 10 years of outstanding commitment to sustainable development, Université Laval has earned a second gold rating from the international Sustainability Tracking, Assessment and Rating System (STARS) program. Already ranked first in Canada, it rose to the second position worldwide, out of some 800 registered universities. Université Laval, which is the only university in the province of Québec to offer both agriculture and forestry programs, was one of the first universities in the world to offer a complete curriculum in agroforestry.

Organizing committee


Scientific Committee


Alain Olivier, Université Laval



  • Maren Oelbermann, University of Warterloo
  • Rémi Cardinaël, CIRAD
  • Shibu Jose, University of Missouri
  • Fardausi Akhter, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Raju Soolanayakanahally, Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada
  • Naresh Thevathasan, University of Guelph
  • Laurène Feintrenie, CIRAD, CATIE, ICRAF
  • Meine Van Noordwijk, ICRAF
  • Ann Degrande, ICRAF
  • Javed Rizvi, CIFOR - ICRAF
  • Paxie Chirwa, University of Pretoria
  • Jules Bayala, ICRAF
  • Mariève Pouliot, University of Copenhagen
  • Philippe Vaast, ICRAF, CIRAD
  • Francis Dubé, University of Concepción
  • Geneviève Michon, IRD
  • Marney Isaac, University of Toronto
  • Christian Dupraz, IUAF, INRAE


International Orientation Committee


Damase Khasa, Université  Laval



  • Jean-François Bissonnette, Université  Laval
  • Edmundo Barrios, FAO
  • Uma Karki, Tuskegee University, AFTA
  • Ravi Prabhu, CIFOR-ICRAF
  • Dennis Garrity, Global EverGreening Alliance, ICRAF, WRI, Global Landcare
  • Betha Lusiana, ICRAF
  • Peter Minang, ICRAF
  • Jabier Ruiz Mirazo, WWF
  • Christian Dupraz, IUAF, INRAE
  • Ann Degrande, ICRAF
  • Laurène Feintrenie, CIRAD, CATIE, ICRAF
  • Andrew Miccolis, ICRAF



Click here to contact the congress secretariat.